Pinterest is Trying to Ruin My Marriage

That sounds a bit dramatic.
At the very least, Pinterest was no help with my “flooring issue.”

In the recent months, I’ve become infatuated with Pinterest.  I don’t love it enough to commit to it, but I’ve driven by its house several times, winking at it.  Fleeting moments of lust.  And then I realized, Pinterest is trying to ruin my marriage.

Pinterest

Pinterest is an online bulletin board filled with beautiful arts & crafts projects, DIY ideas and just generally cool shit.

In our quest to save money, we decided to opt out of the Rosewood Ebony Flooring in the halls (and, subsequently, throughout the remainder of the house) mentioned in our first post.  It’s beautiful, but I just wanted to look around a bit to see if there was a more cost-effective option.  Let’s remember, the bedroom project was our first-ever DIY project and we didn’t skimp on all the costs.

Pinterest has an array of options on flooring:  Paper bag flooring, stained concrete floors, plywood flooring made to look like hardwood, etc.

My eyes lit up with excitement!  “Pinterest, you genius!  I’ll go mention to Danny that I met a new friend!  Then, I’ll introduce you guys.  It’s cool – we can all be friends.”

I really liked all the ideas, but Danny wasn’t fond of the stained concrete option or the paper bag option.   (I did manage to cover our dinner table with the paper bag – I will post on that soon).  So, plywood it is.  Easy-peasy, right?

Danny rolls his eyes.  I can read the look on his face.  “Here we go again.  Another crazy-ass idea Lauren’s come up with that’s about to occupy the rest of my week.”  But, the words that come out of his mouth, “Ok, babe.  If you think we can do it, let’s try it.”

Super – except for one thing.  We don’t have a table saw.  And when I make cuts with our circular saw, it looks like I gave up halfway through and my cuts aren’t straight.  I’ll have you know that I did not give up halfway through.  But, when your husband is sick on the couch and you’re determined to get stuff done, you make do.  So, I did.  And failed.  Miserably.

111.12

Let it be known that I am not blaming Pinterest entirely; I am partly to blame for this disaster.  But, as dating sites have been blamed for causing rifts in marriage, Pinterest is not innocent in this endeavor.  It’s encouraging me to click links, re-pin posts and figure out ways to turn tub-drain hair into a rare, art piece to put on our wall for all to see.  It’s called upcycling, folks.  Get green.

To spare you a long, unnecessary story about these floors, I’ll just say they didn’t work.  Aside from the fact that none of the cuts are straight, the “construction adhesive”, aka Liquid Nails, was not sufficient to hold these suckers down.  We placed heavy buckets, numerous paint cans and Danny’s amp on top to weight them down so they’d stick.  They are still popping up on the ends.  Where was Pinterest then?  Where was Pinterest when I looked online for hours searching for an adhesive that was strong enough to keep these things attached to the floor?  Pinterest was not interested in my problems.  Pinterest let me down.  Pinterest had moved on.

 Hall 1

Fortunately, the attempted project only put us out $30.  Unfortunately, the Rosewood Ebony flooring we decided to finish with wasn’t in stock at our local Home Depot, so we had to order it and wait… Very tough for me considering I like things to happen the same day the idea pops in my head.

Hall Floor

So, Pinterest, next time you think about batting those pretty eyes at me, keep in mind that although you are so enticing, I can resist you, as hard as that may be.

I can make a patchwork day bed with wood chips and twine…and I can do it without you!

Has Pinterest seduced you?  Have you ever had a tough time with Liquid Nails not sticking?    Have you tried the plywood flooring?

Lauren

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Pinterest is Trying to Ruin My Marriage

  1. tonya deford September 19, 2013 at 7:33 am Reply

    Have y’all thought about trying floor glue like they use for linoleum, regular tile and even ceramic tile. I’d guess that if it can hold ceramic tile down, surely it can hold down the wood y’all are gonna use. If y’all are gonna stain it, y’all could use some kind of silicone that would fill up any gaps that might be between the boards and it would absorb the stain like the wood will do. Not trying to get in y’alls business. Just thought I’d try to offer a suggestion that’ll work. If you’d like, I can ask my brother did I tell you something that will work. He should know, he’s been laying floors for 30 yrs. Good luck. Tell Danny I hope he feels better soon. Love y’all. Tonya

    • laurenmississippi September 19, 2013 at 8:17 am Reply

      I’ll have to look into that. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Tina September 19, 2013 at 8:30 am Reply

    I’ve never been on Pinterest so after reading your blog, I took a look! Wow! I could get addicted to that myself. But as far as trying to make or build anything? Forget that! I’m like you, it looks easy and then I end up with a disaster on my hands. I’m content to sit back and read about your experiences!!! Keep me posted about Danny! – Tina

    • laurenmississippi September 19, 2013 at 8:44 am Reply

      Oh, Tina, it’s got everything! I’m surprised you’re just now seeing it. Glad you like reading about our projects, which sometimes turn to disaster. 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

  3. Tina September 19, 2013 at 8:32 am Reply

    Oh, patchwork day bed with wood chips and twine? You’re kidding, right?

    • laurenmississippi September 19, 2013 at 8:45 am Reply

      Yes, I was being sarcastic. Peruse through Pinterest a bit, though. You’ll see what I mean. You’ll find that you hardly need to throw anything away. You can turn it into something else, says Pinterest.

  4. curt September 19, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

    Lauren – you’re so funny! Everything looks easier on Pinterest and HGTV. You are a brave soul – I have about every power tool known to the construction world and I wouldn’t have attempted that. 🙂 Thanks for the warning – that Pinterest must be one mean momma.

    • laurenmississippi September 19, 2013 at 10:51 am Reply

      Pinterest is certainly deceiving. We usually get knee-deep in a project before we realize we don’t have all the necessary tools. But, Pinterest just makes you feel so inspired: “I don’t need a table saw! I can get it done with a hand-saw if I need to.”

      Thanks for reading, Curt!

So...what do YOU think?

