My Attempt at Making Clothes

When I got pregnant, I quit smoking.  I picked up sewing as my replacement hobby. I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

The first thing I made was a blanket made of old t-shirts we don’t wear anymore. It’s not the best, but I love it and it keeps us cozy when we curl up on the couch.  I’ve made some pillows and sewed patches on my jeans that I refuse to throw away.

Blankets & Pillows

Jeans

I’m not really a skirt-wearin’ gal.  I like my jeans if I’m out, shorts if I’m home.  But, when I patched my jeans with the $1.50/yard material, I decided to use the remainder to make a skirt.  I don’t need any fancy zippers or buttons – the elastic gives me room to grow!

Tabby

Tabby wanted to help me with the measurements.

Skirt 1
After the first pose, Danny said, “Put your arms down.  You’re not Wonder Woman.” 
So, I became a robot.
I don’t pose for pictures that often.

I’m also not really a shoppin’ girl.  I don’t like to shop and I can’t get on board paying more than $5 for a shirt/skirt or $8 for pants.  I’m not buying a $20 dress.  So, if I can make a skirt for $1.50, that’s pretty good.

Skirt 2
Sassy quickly turns to annoyed that the dogs are taking over my photo shoot.

I decided to try to make a dress based on this design.  I pulled out an old tank top and my new $2.50/yard material and got to sewing.  I have no pictures of the “during” process, as I’m not confident enough in my sewing to make this a  tutorial.

Here is the dress after the fact:

Dress

I am going to work on some different material this weekend.  Try to get some more practice.

So, have you made any clothes?  Are your animals camera hogs?  How sassy are you during photo shoots?

Lauren

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “My Attempt at Making Clothes

  1. honeysucklecottagenz September 29, 2013 at 12:28 am Reply

    I love the idea of making a blanket out of old t shirts. Great idea 🙂

    • laurenmississippi September 29, 2013 at 7:23 am Reply

      Thanks! Like I said, it’s not the best looking, but at least we didn’t have to throw our shirts away!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Shannon October 1, 2013 at 9:46 am Reply

    How cool Lauren! We need a rainy sewing day! You know how i am about spending too much money on clothes too! Love you!

    • laurenmississippi October 1, 2013 at 9:50 am Reply

      Girl, we can sew all day long! Throw some music on, mix up some drinks and sew our hearts away! That would be fun. I love YOU, Shan!

  3. Tina October 3, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

    Great job!! I think that was a gingham skirt you had on yesterday. Very nice pieces you have made so far! You need to work the runway (or kitchen), girl, when you model although I do love the robot moves. Michaela can give you some pointers. I think I have a dog or cat face/tail in every picture I have ever made!

    • laurenmississippi October 3, 2013 at 10:01 am Reply

      Thanks, Tina! Michaela is so full of spunk – I bet I could learn some runway tips from her!

So...what do YOU think?

