Spinach Smoothie That Doesn’t Taste Like Death

Spinach Smoothie

I do not like vegetables.

For 24 years, I got along just fine without them.  I could be picky and not have to suffer.  Since the pregnancy, my body isn’t the immortal I thought it was.  I’ve gotten a cold, stomach virus, and simple cuts and scrapes aren’t healing as easily as they once would.  So, I was told I needed to eat leafy vegetables.  Ugh.

Since my need for them outweighs my want, I had to figure out a way to get the nutrients the vegetables/fruits would give me without hating everything about it.  I went to my buddy/coworker, Trey.  He is the health nut I’ve been consulting lately. Suffice it to say, this dude knows his stuff.

I told him what I needed and that I didn’t want it to taste like ass he hand-wrote a recipe for me.  That’s right, hand-wrote.  From his head.  I was pretty impressed.

The ingredients are:

2 frozen bananas
1 cup strawberries
1 cup pineapple
1 cup spinach
2-3 tbsp honey
1 tbsp mint leaves (optional)
1 cup vanilla Greek yogurt

Smoothie

Looking ok at this point

Smoothie 2

Strawberry being a boss.

Smoothie 4
I was a bit skeptical.

Smoothie 3

I loved it!

…Danny did not.  But, his aversion was the banana.  So, we can throw something else in there next time.

I believe this will be a regular thing!

Be sure to check out Thug Kitchen for other great recipes with humor in their description.

Thanks for stopping by!

Lauren

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spinach Smoothie That Doesn’t Taste Like Death

  1. Wishful Whisking October 2, 2013 at 2:21 am Reply

    Love this post, sounds delicious!

  2. Tina October 2, 2013 at 9:41 am Reply

    I will make that this week! My son, Nick, HATES veggies. I will make this for him and not say a word. Great blog as always! You write so well and I love the pictures!! – Tina

    • laurenmississippi October 2, 2013 at 9:53 am Reply

      Thanks, Tina! I was very skeptical, but pleasantly surprised!

So...what do YOU think?

