The McCoys

Today, I just want to share some pictures of the McCoys.

McCoys
Grandma and Papaw McCoy

The story of my grandparents’ meeting and marriage is definitely an enjoyable one.

They were strangers when they married, but they lasted over 50 years before my grandfather passed away.  When I ask Grandma how they did it, her response is, “We loved each other.”  They didn’t just get angry and throw in the towel.  They worked at their marriage.  They didn’t have money to go on vacations.  They didn’t have a lavish wedding.  They lived several years without a car.  But, they made it.

I’ve always admired that they persevered through hardships.  There was a time where Grandma thought Papaw wouldn’t return when the ship he was on was hit by a Kamikaze aircraft.  As we’re all aware, cell phones didn’t exist, so she was left for days not sure if her husband was alive.  Ultimately, she received a telegram indicating that he was found.

Telegram

To say that my grandmother is a wonderful person is an understatement.  She is caring, forgiving, a generous soul.  She is just a beautiful person.  She’s not a rule breaker, so seeing this picture makes me laugh.  Grandma

Grandma being a badass, leaning on the “Keep off Grass” sign.  Such a rebel.

Great-GrandmotherThis is my great-grandmother.  I never met her.  She looks angry.

DadHere is my dad getting a haircut (perhaps it was his first).

Uncles & DAd

Two of my Uncles and Dad. (L to R: Dale, Ronnie, Dad)

Young Lauren

There I am.  Cheesin’ like my dad.

Have a great Thursday!

Lauren

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “The McCoys

  1. notcold40 October 24, 2013 at 9:07 am Reply

    Great post.

  2. Tina October 24, 2013 at 9:32 am Reply

    Oh wow, Lauren. I think this is my favorite posting to date. I really loved what you wrote and the pictures…pieces of history. Hold on to those old photos and stories and look what you can pass on to your children. That is so special. Your great-grandmother looked angry but she sure was stylin’!

    • notcold40 October 24, 2013 at 9:50 am Reply

      One picture not posted was the telegram telling mom that dad was missing after the attack. That had to be traumatic until she got the other telegram.

      • laurenmississippi October 24, 2013 at 10:18 am

        I wasn’t able to locate that. I used what I had on hand. Believe me, I am looking for more!

        I couldn’t imagine going days wondering if my husband was alive. Grandma is truly a badass.

      • notcold40 October 24, 2013 at 10:21 am

        Oh, I knew you were putting essential items to do the blog. I just thought it was an amazing ti,me to go through what mom did. Honor among soldiers back then was much more than now. People wanted to fight for the US.

    • laurenmississippi October 24, 2013 at 10:17 am Reply

      Thanks, Tina! I think “angry” was the look for pictures in her day! I love looking at these old pictures, especially my dad getting his hair cut. 🙂

  3. Sarah Angleton October 24, 2013 at 10:12 am Reply

    I think you have your grandmother’s mischievous smile…just a couple of badasses.

    • laurenmississippi October 24, 2013 at 10:20 am Reply

      Hah! You should see us when we get together on Saturdays – she cooks this fabulous breakfast, I eat more than I should, then we nap. Pretty hardcore.

So...what do YOU think?

