That Time I Ranted on the Internet

I try to keep my opinions regarding social issues to myself on the Internet.  I share my opinions with those who already know me personally and are aware of my good intentions.

However, consider this my first Internet rant.

The situation:

This weekend, I saw a child, no older than 10 years old, wearing a black “Piko” (I just found out what a Piko is – I thought it was just classified as a large shirt), some Aztec leggings, fur boots, carrying a purse on her shoulder and had a smart phone in her hand as she walked through Home Depot.  I looked up to see her mother who was wearing the same thing, just different colors.

Now, these people have done nothing to me directly.  Their existence doesn’t affect mine.  This is not meant to offend or pass judgment, but to invoke conversation.

My issues:

#1 Why does this 10-year-old look exactly like her mother?  Why are they wearing the exact same outfit?

#2 Why does this 10-year-old have a cell phone?  Does she need it to let her mom know that she’ll be on aisle 10 while Mom peruses Martha Stewart paints?

I’m sure I’m in the wrong somehow, but I can’t help but be bothered by this.

Going back to #1 above, I realize this shouldn’t bother me.  Why should I care what these strangers are wearing?  To me, it’s more than that.  It appears we are forcing adulthood on children.  We all remember being 10 years old.  When I was ten, I was not wearing the latest styles that my mother was sporting and playing with a $500+ handheld device as my family and I walked through stores.

I didn’t have a right to be bored.  I was ten and had no idea what life was like.  Louis C.K. said it best:

Louis CK

I laughed recently at a post I saw on FaceBook.  A fellow classmate of mine runs a small boutique.  It fits her.  She was always a fashion-forward gal when we were in high school.  It’s natural that she would run a fashion boutique.  But, what gets my goat here is this boutique is marketed to the people she knows personally.  Assuming she knows everyone in the county she lives in, that’s approximately 19,000 people).  Taking away approximately 9,000 males, we are left with 10,000 females that would be in the market.

I see her post on FaceBook: New Piko – $39.50 in XYZ colors and ABC sizes.

Then the comments roll in.  Excited women posting their chosen size and color.

Side noteI lived in this town.  Even if you don’t personally know someone, you know them from seeing them again and again.  There’s one Wal-Mart.

So, I think to myself: is every-fucking-body in that town ordering that?  As a consumer, I don’t want to wear what everyone else is wearing.  I imagine there’s a day where more than one woman wears this particular shirt/leggings/outfit.  They all look the same!

Do all these women actually like this style?  Or do  they just want it because they are being told it’s fashion and in style?

****************************************************

Speaking on cell phones in general, since Danny and I gave up cell phones in August, I have people-watched more.  I particularly enjoy watching as Danny and I sit at a restaurant waiting for our food to arrive.  We look around at the restaurant’s decor, talk about why they chose particular items and discuss our own lives.  I look around: a family of four sitting next to us obviously waiting for their food.  But, no conversations are being had (well, none verbally with their family sitting right in front of them).  They are all glued to their phones, some enamored with statuses/conversations on FaceBook, others looking bored, scrolling through images on instagram.

People walk through life using peripheral vision to guide them as their focus is on their phone.  They laugh at the memes and post self-portraits to various social network sites. #selfiesunday.  I can’t believe that “selife” is a word.  Ugh.

Regarding #2 above, I will admit I judge parenting in general.  I’m not one yet and I’m sure I will eat my words, but for now, I judge.

What does a 10 year old need with a cell phone as she is standing next to her mother in Home Depot?  Surely it’s not a safety net in case they get separated in the store.  Why would a child need a $500+ iPhone to call her mother?  A $10 phone will do the same thing.

My point is this:  kids don’t need cell phones.  Hell, adults really don’t need  cell phones.  They are merely a convenience.  A convenience that everyone is now accustomed to and views it as a necessity.

I’ve not even addressed the fact that this kid was carrying a purse.  Not a cute, Hello Kitty purse that obviously was made for children.  I mean a beige, looks-like-her-mother’s purse.  Why does she need a purse?  I often ponder what women need with purses.  A child surely does not need one!

I firmly believe that we, as a society, are forcing our children to grow up too quickly.  Let them enjoy the imaginations they have.  All too soon that imagination will be put aside while they are forced to work a job they don’t like because they are expected to decide what they want to do at 18 years old.

Bill Hicks 2

That’s my rant. I just wasted time in this short life bitching about something I have no control over.  What are your thoughts on these matters?

–Lauren

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “That Time I Ranted on the Internet

  1. notcold40 February 18, 2014 at 8:32 am Reply

    Your taste in humor is just like your dad. Bill Hicks and Louis C.K. are 2 of my favorite comedian/atheists. Logic and reason.

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 9:18 am Reply

      When I first heard Bill Hicks’ stand-up, it reminded me of your delivery when you tell jokes.

      But, you’re right, I, as the apple, don’t fall too far from the Chollie tree. Thank God I took after you more than Lisa.

      • notcold40 February 18, 2014 at 10:39 am

        No shit. p.s. Not sure if you saw the Hicks show on netflix. It is a story up to his death. Pretty coo and sad.

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 10:40 am Reply

      I have seen it. Hate that it’s the only Bill Hicks material on Netflix.

  2. Laura February 18, 2014 at 9:42 am Reply

    I’m not a parent, so I don’t feel qualified to comment on parenting things, but I do remember being shocked when my 13yo sister got a cell phone. I guess I’m more worried about things like body image and I worry that the daughter told to be like her mother might also acquire insecurities and begin to believe that something about her is not beautiful. That would be a huge travesty in my book!

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 9:44 am Reply

      That’s a great point! I hadn’t thought of that. I noticed when my 6-year-old nephews could unlock an iPhone and select games and play, that was an issue to me. I want (for my children) to enjoy real life around them.

      • Laura February 18, 2014 at 10:03 am

        Seriously! And real books! 🙂

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 10:07 am Reply

      There’s nothing like the smell of a good book!

  3. Dorothy McCoy February 18, 2014 at 10:23 am Reply

    I think you have lots of common sense. You think a lot like I do. Good article Lauren.

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 10:28 am Reply

      Thanks, Grandma! And to think, you called me a liberal this weekend. If I think like you do, that makes you a liberal (by your standards). LOL – of course, I’m kidding. I love you.

  4. Dorothy McCoy February 18, 2014 at 10:42 am Reply

    I love you too, but you were talking like a liberal yesterday.You know exactly what I mean by that.

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 10:47 am Reply

      I do. You’ll note that I said “I’m kidding” above. Like I told you yesterday, I am not a liberal. I think it’s all bullshit. Liberal, conservative, Republican, Democrat.
      I do have a question for our next visit. Decades ago, the Republican platform was identified as the Democrat platform and vice versa. So, are you a Republican because that’s how you’ve always identified or were you a Democrat when the roles were reversed?

  5. Dorothy McCoy February 18, 2014 at 11:25 am Reply

    Decades ago I wasn’t much of anything. As I got older I tend to pay more attention to what is happening to our country. If we don’t pay attention, soon we won’t recognize our country that we live in. It’s almost that way now.

    • laurenmississippi February 18, 2014 at 11:44 am Reply

      I definitely agree with you there. They are all crooked.

So...what do YOU think?

