Weekend Green Thumbs!

[This post can also be viewed at Eldie’s Domesticated Life]

It’s warming up!

That  means it’s time to bring those potted plants back outside to soak up the sun.  It’s also time to get some color in our flower bed!

First of all, I just found out about Rivers, a local greenhouse.  My friend, Tina, introduced me to them.  Thanks, Tina, for giving me a new place to spend my money!  They have a TON of plants and flowers to choose from and they are very helpful.  I love that they are a local mom-and-pop place.

We left with some petunias, marigolds, salvia,  verbena, and other plants whose names escape me.

Our dogs love the garden and when we turn our heads, they really love seeing how long they can prance around in it.  So, we bought some cattle panel and used tree limbs we had in our yard to secure the fence.
I like that it looks rustic.

 

I made this sign to match the rustic fence posts.

I love Elephant Ears!  They are my favorite plant to date.  They are massive and beautiful and have no problem staying around and multiplying.

My new baby

While I wait for my seeds to sprout, I got some lemon balm and lavender to make our carport smell fancy.  They are supposed to deter mosquitoes, so we’ll see how that goes.

Thanks to Pinterest, I found this cute way to set up my herb pots.  I secured the rebar in the ground and just stacked my pretty pots on their side.  I made another sign to match my herbs.

This is what I see when I arrive home.  It makes me happy.

So, that was my weekend.  What did you do this weekend?  Do your dogs prance around in your hard work?  Are you growing anything?

[Eldie]

*For a larger view, click on the pictures*

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Weekend Green Thumbs!

  1. notcold40 March 31, 2014 at 9:43 am Reply

    I used to love elephant ears too. I never tried to grow them up here. Hmm….I wonder.

    • Lauren March 31, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

      Maybe you should try them up there. If nothing else, you could keep them in a pot indoors.

      • notcold40 March 31, 2014 at 9:53 am

        I will put them on my shopping list.

    • Lauren March 31, 2014 at 9:55 am Reply

      If you do, please send me a picture and let me know how they turn out. If they don’t do well, you can just bring them down when you come visit. LOL

  2. Shannon March 31, 2014 at 9:44 am Reply

    Looks nice. Makes me wanna get my yard cleaned up and prettied for the summer!

    • Lauren March 31, 2014 at 9:46 am Reply

      Thanks, Shan! It was so much fun getting the yard looking good!

  3. Laura April 1, 2014 at 8:29 am Reply

    Beautiful! I can’t wait to see anything growing around here (we got a new foot or two of snow just yesterday)!

    • Lauren April 1, 2014 at 8:40 am Reply

      Good grief! I am so glad it’s starting to warm up!

So...what do YOU think?

